ADVERTISEMENT

Best time to be a student at Carolina.

lowcountry_cock13

Oct 12, 2017
I was a student from 09-13’.

During that time in football we beat Ole Miss on that Thursday night at #4. Three 11 win seasons. SEC East Title. Beat #1 Alabama handily. That 35-7 win over #5 UGA. 5 in a row against Clemson. You had a chance in every game you played.

Baseball- 2 National titles.

Basketball- Win over #1 Kentucky.

Was there a better era in sports to be a student??

Let me tell you about the worst time to be a USC student: 1989-1993. We got to campus after the death of Joe Morrison and the hiring of Sparky Woods. That 1989 season was probably going a little better than expected. Sparky and staff seemed to have reigned in Todd’s tendency to throw 3 picks per game. Then came the knee injury against NC State. We finish 6-4-1 (I think) and admin decides not to accept a bowl bid. By 1993, we still had zero bowl wins and Sparky was gone.
Basketball lost Brent Price to transfer, Joe Rhett developed a heart condition, Barry Manning broke his wrist and we had a football player getting time by the end of the season. The following season, Felton was fired. We bring in Steve Newton, won very few games and ended up on probation. Baseball was still respectable, but the days of Omaha were gone. We were maybe an above average Metro Conference team.
Dark days...

Let me tell you about the worst time to be a USC student: 1989-1993. We got to campus after the death of Joe Morrison and the hiring of Sparky Woods. That 1989 season was probably going a little better than expected. Sparky and staff seemed to have reigned in Todd’s tendency to throw 3 picks per game. Then came the knee injury against NC State. We finish 6-4-1 (I think) and admin decides not to accept a bowl bid. By 1993, we still had zero bowl wins and Sparky was gone.