ADVERTISEMENT

Campus and Columbia

spardue

Aug 26, 2018
Don’t mean any disrespect to any Columbia residents. I’m a USC grad and lived in Columbia several years post graduation. Was in town over the weekend and walked around campus. Goodness, it was old and dirty. I hope the school has plans to begin updating the horseshoe area back to Capstone and Columbia Hall. It’s WAY past due.

Reactions: Crazy Cock 89
Don’t mean any disrespect to any Columbia residents. I’m a USC grad and lived in Columbia several years post graduation. Was in town over the weekend and walked around campus. Goodness, it was old and dirty. I hope the school has plans to begin updating the horseshoe area back to Capstone and Columbia Hall. It’s WAY past due.

This is odd to me. I took my high schooler down to campus about 2 months ago because he might go there in a few years after 2 free years at tech. We ate lunch on campus and walked around and we were both really impressed.

It was the first time I had really walked around in several years (even though I do go down to see my college junior a few times a month- I normally just drive through).

I thought the campus looked great.

In fact, I was talking to a upper level administrative official at another south carolina university a few weeks ago and he told me he had been down to the USC campus to walk around and was using some ideas there back at his school. He originally worked at a university in the Midwest before coming to South Carolina and he was bragging on the campus to me. He admitted to being jealous of the budget of our landscaping department and the equipment they have.

Reactions: lostcock
Was just at UF and noted how aged their infrastructure looked versus what we have at USC. Downtown Columbia has its issues but the campus as a whole still shines.

When I get down to SC in April, I may take a trip to Columbia with my HS freshman son to let him get a feel for the campus. I'll get back to yall with my impressions.