ADVERTISEMENT

Hello Gamecocks

tmoreau

Jun 26, 2002
I am officially on board now as a fan of USC. We dropped our daughter off on Monday to start marching band practice. She is a freshman this year, and is really looking forward to being a student in Columbia. Any quick comments about tradition, going to games, etc. -tips on tailgating, parking for non-connected, what to do or avoid during football weekends? Much appreciated. We have been on campus a few times, but mostly without students there. Seems like there will be a lot of options on visits.

I don't know much about the team, but will try to learn quickly. I am an Illinois grad and have been a Rivals member of the University of Illinois site for 13 years now. We have a son that is a sophomore at NC State, so now we have the SEC, Big Ten and ACC covered. Thank goodness we avoided Clemson as a choice (this much I know about USC fans).

I'll let others add their tips and suggestions, but one thing you'll be interested in is the Gamecock Walk before every home game. Especially since your daughter is in the band. It starts about an hour and a half before gametime. If you'd like to sit near the band look for tickets in sections 21 and 22 (east lower stands). The higher up in rows the better view from this section, you're also near the band.

I'll let others add their tips and suggestions, but one thing you'll be interested in is the Gamecock Walk before every home game. Especially since your daughter is in the band. It starts about an hour and a half before gametime. If you'd like to sit near the band look for tickets in sections 21 and 22 (east lower stands). The higher up in rows the better view from this section, you're also near the band.
Thanks, we have ticket to the Mizzou game (Illini much hated basketball rival) so it will be fun to see USC beat them. We are pretty far from the band for that game. It is Family Weekend, so I understand the band plays at the tailgate party.

Reactions: cockofdawn