ADVERTISEMENT

If Lt. Gen. Robert Caslen isn't our next President at USC

I am surprised that nobody within the University system was being groomed for this position. It is kind of embarrassing that we are having this much trouble filling the position with an experienced academic leader.

We did groom TWO of 'em - one (a Greek national) became the President of the University of Illinois/Chicago and the other ( female) recently was installed as President of the University of Minnesota.

I am surprised that nobody within the University system was being groomed for this position. It is kind of embarrassing that we are having this much trouble filling the position with an experienced academic leader.
They were and we let the University of Minnesota hire her away.

Reactions: howard13
I do not have anything against the General. I was a Marine Officer for 8 years and I have respect for all branches of the military except the Navy (ok, I like the Navy too). I just do not see where leading an academy translates to leading a large research university. Two completely different skill sets. We need a President with experience and focus on fundraising and athletic excellence (which helps bring in more funds and better students). Leading the USMA requires little in the way of fundraising and the athletics there are not a major focus.

Leadership is important, playing politics is important, the General is probably good in these areas.

I do not have anything against the General. I was a Marine Officer for 8 years and I have respect for all branches of the military except the Navy (ok, I like the Navy too). I just do not see where leading an academy translates to leading a large research university. Two completely different skill sets. We need a President with experience and focus on fundraising and athletic excellence (which helps bring in more funds and better students). Leading the USMA requires little in the way of fundraising and the athletics there are not a major focus.