ADVERTISEMENT

What is the meaning behind your GCC handle?

If you don’t mind sharing. Some of you I have wondered where the name came from.
Mine happens to be my middle name.
I represented a high profile criminal defendant in the 1990’s, and famously had him acquitted.

Not really, I’m just an attorney who happens to be a USC alum. I thought it was clever, but I’m frequently reminded that I’m not as clever as I think.

Bucketdad is a nickname sometimes used to describe a dad that practices pitching with his kids while they learn to pitch. The way it goes is they usually take a kid to lessons once a week, catch them at home and are taught what to work on and what to look for in practice the week ahead. We typically sit on buckets. I've had two kids who pitched that are 6 years apart so I have spent a good part of my adult life sitting on that bucket. I have lost more toenails than I care to remember (stupid breaking balls) but it was a small price to pay for quality one-on- one time with the kids. I wear "bucketdad" proudly.

People think I'm the bastard son of a northern ruler.

Tyrion Lannister: My greatest accomplishment. And you, you're Ned Stark's bastard, aren't you?

[Jon walks away]

Tyrion Lannister: Did I offend you? Sorry. You arethe bastard, though.

Jon Snow: Lord Eddard Stark is my father.

Tyrion Lannister: And Lady Stark is not your mother, making you … the bastard. Let me give you some advice, bastard: never forget what you are. The rest of the world will not. Wear it like armor, and it can never be used to hurt you.

Jon Snow: What the hell do you know about being a bastard?

Tyrion Lannister: All dwarfs are bastards in their fathers' eyes.

Tyrion Lannister: My greatest accomplishment. And you, you're Ned Stark's bastard, aren't you?

[Jon walks away]

Tyrion Lannister: Did I offend you? Sorry. You arethe bastard, though.

Jon Snow: Lord Eddard Stark is my father.