ADVERTISEMENT

Best time to be a student at Carolina.

I was there 88-92 (Dec). Morrison died right when I got there and we hired Sparky. Good guy but he was eaten alive in the SEC. 92 was a crazy year. We lost a bunch then Taneyhill started, and we won a bunch. We should have beaten Spurrier's Gators in Gainesville- had them on the ropes and missed a HB option pass that would have sealed it. Went on to beat Clemson and that was the best and most memorable win I experienced as a student (Tenn a few weeks before was close). Beating Clemson there was just wonderful and it was weeks before I graduated. To quote a famous football coach, "My heart was full".

PS Taneyhill gets lots of credit for that team winning but the defense on that 92 team was beastly. They could play with anyone.

Reactions: coolcock2001
Never had one. Didn't need it when you are out with Athletes. ;)
A bouncer isn't going to stop a chick who's walking in with someone bigger than him.
I rarely needed one since I worked the door and bartended at a couple of bars in Five Points. So I knew most of the other guys and gals at the other bars. The cops too, come to think of it. But it was always safer to have one when you're NOT a chick. 😉

84-87 probably wasn't bad. Felton was building a decent team, football had 2 fun seasons, and baseball an Omaha appearance. At that time that was considered a great time for Carolina athletics

I was there during some of the great McGuire years watching Roche and Owens, camping out to get tickets, student protests etc. Don't thing there's been anything since to match those years. If you were on campus then you know what I'm talking about.