ADVERTISEMENT

“U of SC” 🤮

Gamecock Lifer

GarnetTrust.com Member/Supporter
Gold Member
Oct 8, 2008
Am I the only one who hates this? Seems to be the University adopted thing lately. We have been USC my whole life, IDGAF if So Cal claims it, I do not like “U of SC”. “Old man shakes cane at sky and yells unintelligible things”

Am I the only one who hates this? Seems to be the University adopted thing lately. We have been USC my whole life, IDGAF if So Cal claims it, I do not like “U of SC”. “Old man shakes cane at sky and yells unintelligible things”

On this we can agree.

From the outside, it’s no big deal. UofSC doesn’t sound bad.

But, internally, we all know what it represents. Another submission by the university. A microcosm of not leading.

I graduated from USC.

I say UofSC primarily in derision.

When I think of the BOT, lack of vision, Magoo the AD, major men’s sports, I do think UofSC.

But, out here in Texas folks don’t say USC and aren’t aware of UofSC. They say Carolina or South Carolina and they def know Gamecocks!

I have a degree from both universities so IDGAF.

Reactions: scjohnny

I hate it as well, it was the epitome of letting the people say, “you’re not the real usc” win.

I don't like it because it's obviously done in deference to U of Southern California.

Has nothing to do with SoCal. SoCal stopped us from patenting the interlocking "SC" that is used in baseball. That's it.
I am not saying they made us change just saying that is what everyone nationally thinks of when you say USC. That is the most commonly brought up comment when we call ourselves USC, much like when we call ourselves “Carolina”..

I am not saying they made us change just saying that is what everyone nationally thinks of when you say USC. That is the most commonly brought up comment when we call ourselves USC, much like when we call ourselves “Carolina”..
“Carolina “ will always denote The University of South Carolina