ADVERTISEMENT

Slightly OT: It's sad to see landmarks from my time at USC disappear

surfincock

Oct 20, 2003
I graduated with a BSEE in 1986. I was in Columbia today looking at a new project and I went to the SC bookstore to get some goodies. The cashier told me that the school recently purchased the block the bookstore sits on, from their corner all the way to Wendy's for new buildings. He then said he's not sure but thinks the store may close. This is my favorite bookstore because it is next to the old engineering building. I left there to go to Sandy's to get lunch and it was closed. This was news to me since I haven't been there in a couple of years. Then I realized how many places are gone that were such a big part of my college years.

1. Pappy's
2. The Big Bird
3. The laundromat
4. The honeycombs
5. Sandy's
6. Block C
7. Rainbows
8. Parthenon
9. KFC on Rosewood

Kinda sad about it.

I graduated with a BSEE in 1986. I was in Columbia today looking at a new project and I went to the SC bookstore to get some goodies. The cashier told me that the school recently purchased the block the bookstore sits on, from their corner all the way to Wendy's for new buildings. He then said he's not sure but thinks the store may close. This is my favorite bookstore because it is next to the old engineering building. I left there to go to Sandy's to get lunch and it was closed. This was news to me since I haven't been there in a couple of years. Then I realized how many places are gone that were such a big part of my college years.

1. Pappy's
2. The Big Bird
3. The laundromat
4. The honeycombs
5. Sandy's
6. Block C
7. Rainbows
8. Parthenon
9. KFC on Rosewood

Kinda sad about it.