ADVERTISEMENT

Booing...A Perspective and an Honest Question for Anti- Boo-ers

CavDad62

Sep 9, 2010
Full disclosure...Half-Scholarship donor for 26 years, get 4 season tickets each years, support all Gamecock athletics and a 1988 graduate of USC.

Also, I'm not a proponent of booing.

Unlike the anti-boo crowd, though, I don't believe booing affects recruiting decisions, other coaching staffs using it against us in recruiting, etc. It is what it is, and each school has portions of its fan base that voice their displeasure by booing.

My Perspective...74 years ago, our country sent its 18-year old, high school graduate KIDS into the beaches of Normandy, only for our KIDS to witness the horror of war, their friends get gunned down, shot in the head, and watch while crews on Higgins boats get summarily executed by German gunnery when the doors dropped on those boats. Our KIDS, the ones that survived, watched their friends die, watched their friends pick up severed limbs and try to seek safety of from the horrendous number of bullets aimed at their bodies.

Today, we continue to send hundreds of thousands of our brightest and eager 18-year olds into war zones, get legs and arms torn off by roadside bombs, see their friends brought home in body bags.

Conversely, each Saturday in the fall, thousands of college athletes run out on a football field, athletes who have been given every advantage in the world within the sport. Yes, they work their asses off. They also get a free education, free clothes, the best weight rooms in the world, the best nutritional staffs in the world, each and every tutoring perk known to man, fly to games in charter jets, get the hands-off treatment through their schooling years because of their athletic prowess.

I have no problem with that...its how it is.

So I should be concerned about a 20-year old's ability to get over a few boos from the crowd? Really? Nah...I don't think I'll get to upset about that.