ADVERTISEMENT

If you enjoy Scott Davis' columns...

• Thread starter Brian Shoemaker
  • Start date
B

Brian Shoemaker

We just emailed the very first Scott Davis newsletter.

If you didn't receive it and want to each week, go to this page. (Please note we're trying to customize which emails you receive, so you only get the info you want.)

Scott's regular columns will still appear on this site each Monday during football season.

Here is a copy of Scott's first email newsletter.

Georgia On My Mind
By Scott Davis, GamecockCentral.com columnist

I attended my first South Carolina-Georgia football game on an occasion that also doubled as USC’s first football game ever as a member of the Southeastern Conference.

It was September 1992.

I was a student at Carolina, and made the odd decision to wear a “You Can’t Lick Our Cocks!” shirt that I had purchased just days before at the SC bookstore on campus. Hey, I’ve always had a touch of Obnoxious Fan running through my bloodstream.

The Gamecocks actually led at halftime (albeit by the slender score of 6-0) before eventually getting run out of the building along the way to an 0-5 start that included such fun stuff as multiple quarterback changes, a player-led “walkout” to protest the continued employment of head coach Sparky Woods, an absolute shelling at the hands of eventual national champion Alabama, and the decision to roll the dice at QB with a true freshman named Steve Taneyhill.

I’d attended an SEC football game before (ironically in Athens when I visited UGA’s campus as a high school senior and briefly flirted with the idea of attending the school), but I realized quickly that Williams-Brice Stadium just felt different when the Gamecocks and Bulldogs played. Playing in the SEC was an absolute galaxy away from laboring along as an independent and doing battle with the likes of Pittsburgh and N.C. State.