ADVERTISEMENT

The Ban

DeeDave

Oct 11, 2021
There seems to be support, and non-support on all sides.

I realize TikTok is ultimately owned by China because of their relationship with the ByteDance.

My opinion is the fear is overblown. I am no expert on Tiktok. But I had my 16 year old sit down last night and show me her feed and we talked about it. I saw nothing on there that I don't see on Facebook- except there were more videos.

However, I saw way more sports videos, cat videos, and prank videos, and videos of people cooking, and videos of people working on home projects, and kids at football and basketball games screaming in the stands that I would like to see. So, I am glad I don't have an account myself.

I understand that LOTS of people use it to make money, to sell items, to promote various projects, etc..... politicians use it.

I am unclear as to why they are singled out for "banning" from Congress or be forced to sell the company. I see them doing the same things that other companies (Facebook, Google, Tesla, GM, Apple, etc) that do business directly with China are already doing. Encouraging parental controls? yes. Sharing illegal content? Of course that should be against the law. Banning government employees at all levels (even local) or even government contractors from downloading it? I have no issue with that.

It sure seems like politicians from all sides are using this for their own selfish purposes.

Trump wanted it banned. Then he meets with a billionaire donor who invests in the company and he suddenly changes his mind.

Biden wants to sign a bill and ban it, but then his own campaign creates an account and Biden uses it while banning other government employees.

Politicians on both sides suddenly changing their mind, etc.