ADVERTISEMENT

Is apathy worse than anger?

gamecock922

Aug 14, 2017
I have really not posted here, at least nothing more than a few replies, but I visit daily. I am writing now because I am concerned about my feelings toward gamecock football. I am a 93 graduate, a third generation alumnus. the 4th generation of my family is there now. I spent most of my childhood and adulthood going to the games. We stopped getting season tickets when my son's soccer commitments created conflicts that made going to games impossible. I say all of that to give my post some level of credibility that I am invested in Carolina. I am also not wanting to provoke anyone. I just find myself caring less and less about our games. at the start of the 4th quarter Saturday, when realized we (the coaches) were going to try to ride out a 17 point lead when our defense was getting the business, I decided to take a drive. My wife called me and said she left the room then looked out the window and saw me driving by in my truck. This is my coping mechanism, I can't make myself endure watching an implosion all the while hoping for a turn-around. In 1984 during the navy game I rode my bike, now I drive a truck. judging by the fit of my clothes, I think I need to go back to the bike. As I type this I realize that maybe my actions show that I do indeed care, but I think I actually watch the games out of habit at this point. I want very desperately to back a winner, or at least see something I can be proud of. I hate being pleasantly surprised when we don't lose. on Saturday, the play on the field could have been enough to win, even with the flaws, but the coaches snatched defeat from victory. My point is that I don't really get mad, I just find my "give-a-da*m" just decreases after each season and I hate that is happening.

I do hope we find success and pray for me while I visit my clemson inlaws for Thanksgiving (and that does include Saturday). Peace be with you.